The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

The number of cars on roads has been increased substentially, on the British roads, by the year 2000. Some people opine that to control the number of cars, people should be encouraged to use other modes of transportation, along with it some international laws should be enforced to control the car ownership. I completely agree with the given notion, as I believe that these methods would definitely prove beneficial in reducing the number of cars.

To commence with, people should be motivated to commute by using public transports. Government should trasnsform the public transportation services, to make it preferable mode of transport. For example, appropriate bus services should be available in the remote areas also. Moreover, government should make it affordable and luxurious to travel by bus then, be impoverished or afluent every people will prefer to travel by bus. Not only this, but also government should aware people about benefits of using bicycle to travel for shorter distance. Hence, encouraging people to use public transportation would play a vital role in reducing the number of cars.

Along with it, government should impose some stringent rule for owning a car. Since, it is easy for people to buy a car nowadays it is contributing in increase its number on roads, therefore laws could help in controlling the number of car a family could buy. For instance, there is a law in India that inforced by government in 2010 that a family can own only one car, which significantly resulted in reduction of cars on Indian roads. Moreover, authorities can also fix an appropriate age for a person to own and ride a car. This will stop people from buying personal cars for every family member, and consequently the number of cars running on roads would be decrease.

To sum up, introduction of laws and encouraging people to use other modes of transportation would undoubtedly prove beneficent in reducing the number of cars.