The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000, there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on the British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

At the 21st century, transportation is an essential part of the daily life. Since the introduction of the first car at Britain in 1888, the amount of traffic has increased up to nearly 30 millions by 2000. Due to the overwhelming growth, some people said other type of vehicles should be put in use more effectively and worldwide rules needed to be set to get car’s owners in check. From my point of view, I personally agree with these requirements, and here’s why.

First, private-owned vehicles can cause many problems to the society. The environment is one of the most concerned problems in the world. Yearly, the total amount of exhaust produced by cars at Britain is 100 thousand tons, and this causes an enormous consequence on the ozone layer. Next, too many vehicles on the road can trigger traffic jams. Not only wasting time of the drivers, but it also puts some heavy effects on the infrastructure of the transportation system, especially considered about the subsidence of roads and highways. For example, the 11-day traffic jam at China, caused a road from a nice and flat one, to a total mess with holes as big as an elephant on the road.

Furthermore, the use of public transportation methods and the introduction of international laws are the best way to solve the above problems. They run on a scheduled basis, can only serve a predefined number of people, and they are easy to manage because they’re all the same. Moreover, the ratio of CO2 produced by a person to the vehicle will be reduced. It means we can control the exhaustion and improve it to be lower and lower. Traffic jams are going to be solved completely, due to the amount of people a public vehicle can handle. With the international laws, the numbers of cars can be controlled by organizations worldwide such as the United Nations. By this, they can limit, put flexible rules to ensure they can controlled the way to buy and use cars in the best way.

In conclusion, the idea of putting public transport vehicles into use and apply laws is a good one. In my opinion, we should do this quick and fast, so we can solve a lot problems, meanwhile save a lot of time to do other jobs to improve this world.