The first man to walk on the moon said it was a great step for mankind in the last century. But in fact, space travel has made little difference to most peoples lives today. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While half a century ago Soviet cosmonaut Yuri Gagarin orbited the globe making history, the Britisher’s then were busy colonising and buy fish and chips for a penny. Even today, space travel is a vulnerable industry and I agree that the progress has not benefited the masses and does not justify its expenses. This essay will discuss the merit of this position in the following paragraphs.

Those decrying about resources wasted in space travel programs highlight the lack of ostensible benefits to common man. Enormous funds used to develop and maintain space stations or sending a human to Mars for colonising does nothing to an average individual struggling to survive. For instance, a construction field men might struggle to keep up with the inflation or sudden economic downturn. Many people may view the NASA videos occasionally, hardly justifying the spends of billions of dollars on space quests. The funds could have made a real difference if diverted in other fields such as medicine, infrastructure, or education.

Nonetheless, the effects pertain deeply to culture and science. Firstly, the race to send a man to moon was purely for a country’s pride, power, and space control. Secondly, although the benefits of scientific recoveries have benefited mankind. For instance, satellites used for transmitting signals are making phone call and internet accessible for connectivity. Thus, some degree of justification can be provided to national funding of space exploration, but space hotel or travel is a colossal waste.

In conclusion, the race for novel scientific discoveries is import for the progress of mankind but spending billions for a 10-minute space ride on Virgin Galactic is unwanted. Funds can rather be effectively utilized in other research fields that directly contribute to basic human requirements.