Food can be produced more cheaply today because of improved fertilisers and better machinery. However, some people argue that such development may be dangerous to human health and may have negative effects on local communities.

Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the cultivation period of food is decreased due to the application of the latest technology such as mechanization in the agriculture industry and high efficient fertilizers. In my opinion, these methods might have severe disadvantages.

There are two main reasons why such foods might impact people health and present economy. First, the safety of these foods cannot be guaranteed, because some underlying foods toxicity might be discovered through long-run research. For example, the carcinogenic risk of some specific substance, which has been used to produce food for many decades, are pointed out through the latest research. These components with healthy-risk might have caused many cancer cases. Thus, the potential risks and dangers of some synthetic fertilisers should be confronted.

In addition, agriculture mechanization exists a great many threats to society, especially the fewer job opportunities offering. Compared with labours, machines operation is more efficient. Obviously, such a structure unemployed people might become a serious social issue, who cannot be re-employed easily due to lack of work skills to fulfil the requirements of other jobs.

In spite of this, the obvious benefit of cheaper food production is that they can satisfy requests from the lower-income group or someone suffering from famine. As a result, the living standard of some poor can be fulfilled, and the paid gap might bridge by cheaper food.

In conclusion, these foods might contribute to ease the hunger problem, while improving the living standard of the Poor. Unfortunately, they are undeniable and noteworthy that underlying health risks and structure unemployment due to fertilizers using and mechanization respectively, because they might threat our daily life.