Foreign language instruction should begin in kindergarten. Discuss.

Since English was viewed as a widely compulsory language across the world, it has been officially put into the curriculum of countries’ education system. So, to help the young generation be proficient in English, some parents have suggested that preschool children should deal with English as soon as possible. However, that proposition have caused much more never-ending debate because others suppose that kindergarten children should be free to develop themselves in the way that they actually feel comfortable. In this essay, both sides of this problems will be discussed.

Firstly, it can be indisputable that being exposed to English in the early stages of children’s development, particularly from kindergarten stage, can help them more skilled at employing this language. The more time they learn it, the more proficiently they can apply it in all various fields. The main reason for supporting this statement is that because of being in the process of the nervous system’s development, kindergarten children have the ability of memorizing a great deal of information what they first contact with, especially under teachers’ proper instruction. Over time, they can become excellent at owing a huge source of English-related knowledge. As a result, they must have more advantage in seeking a good job in their country or maybe have access to a broad market in other countries.

On the other hand, encouraging kindergarten children to study English early have encountered the strong disapproval of some parents. The line of reasoning lies in the fact that preschool children should have the right to develop themselves freely and comfortably. Setting one new language into their study may cause unexpected burden on their physical and mental health that may influence severely on their natural development. What’s more, focusing on learning one new language will push back their creativity or colorful imagination and in the worst-case scenario, the world may lose one potential talent of the art.

To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, although I myself am very supportive of the importance of studying one new language like English, but I also agree with the statement that forcing preschool students to learn other language in the early stages should be considered thoroughly to avoid putting pressure on them.