Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and historical attractions.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the management of cultural and historical attractions tends to distinguish the fare of entrance based on where the visitors come from. The foreign tourists are charged higher price while the local ones pay less to enjoy these attractions. Considering the intensity of visitation and the purpose to help countries, I believe that imposing higher fee for foreigners when they visit the cultural sites and historical sites in some countries is acceptable.

The first reason to agree this issue is regarding the intensity of tourists to visit these attractions. There is a high possibility that local people visit the same sites more often, while the foreigner travellers tend to visit them only once, and they continue to visit another place. For instance, the local inhabitants in Bali usually visit the cultural shows once in a week as their cultural obligation, and they are charged cheaper fee to sustain their visits. For the result, although foreigners don’t come intensively, the income is still enough to fulfill the tourism sites’ necessity

Another reason worth to mention is related to the purpose of helping some countries to gain income from these kinds of tourism. Some poor countries rely on establishing historical sites and cultural shows as the potential income, and the foreigners whom majority of them are from rich countries prefer to these attractions. The government of Thailand imposes the higher fare for tourists who want to enjoy their museums and traditional performance to gain more income, while the local people who are mostly relieved only pay less or free in charge.

To sum up, the implementation of charging higher price for foreign travellers is agreed due to the intensity of tourists in visiting these tourism places and the objective to help some poor countries in gaining more revenue from tourism