Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and historical attractions. To
what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?
It is sometimes argued that tourists from overseas should be charged more than local residents to
visit important sites and monuments. I completely disagree with this idea.
The argument in favour of higher prices for foreign tourists would be that cultural or historical
attractions often depend on state subsidies to keep them going, which means that the resident
population already pays money to these sites through the tax system. However, I believe this to
be a very shortsighted view. foreign tourists contribute to the economy of the host country with
the money they spend on a wide range of goods and services, including food, souvenirs,
accommodation and travel. The governments and inhabitants of every country should be happy
to subsidise important tourist sites and encourage people from the rest of the world to visit them.
If travellers realised that they would have to pay more to visit historical and cultural attractions
in a particular nation, they would perhaps decide not to go to that country on holiday. To take the
UK as an example, the tourism industry and many related jobs rely on visitors coming to the
country to see places like Windsor Castle or Saint Paul’s Cathedral. these two sites charge the
same price regardless of nationality, and this helps to promote the nation’s cultural heritage. If
overseas tourists stopped coming due to higher prices, there would be a risk of insufficient
funding for the maintenance of these important buildings.
In conclusion, I believe that every effort should be made to attract tourists from overseas, and it
would be counterproductive to make them pay more than local residents.