Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student’s performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The concept of examination and assessments have evolved over the last few centuries, especially after the inception of written documentation and advent of information technology reducing the necessity for the dependence on memorized information. Therefore, it is my opinion that rather than relying on timed examinations which rely on written confabulations, assessing a student's ability with presentations, project work and coursework is much more affective in this modern era.

Firstly, internet has changed the whole concept of knowledge based education systems since now almost everything can be found online. As a result, people do not have to rely on their memory but it has become much more important to analyze information. Furthermore, the world is changing rapidly so any knowledge stored in memory will become obsolete within a few years and hence ingraining student's minds with loads of information is an ineffective way to develop the next generation.

Secondly, in the real world, analytical skills are more important and hence with the correct course design through assignments based on case studies and debates, it is possible to train and build up students capable of tackling real-world problems. For example, many of today's most successful people such as Bill Gates and Steve Jobs were college dropouts, who put their skills and effort to solving practical problems, thus reinforcing the fact that doing projects might lead to exponential mental and cognitive development which many traditional exams fail to do.

Finally, most computers today are able to think and make decisions with millions of terabytes of information within a few seconds, which quite frankly, is rather impossible for human beings today. In addition to this, the development of artificial intelligence has resulted many repetitive or procedural tasks to be automated meaning that humans are necessary for unpredictable or uncertain issues in the job market. Thus, providing challenging courseworks develops the pupil's abilities to handle and decide on issues which automated systems cannot do. Why should humans try to learn things that computers can do a million times faster?

In conclusion, while there are some advantages to timed exams but owing to the demand of this modern age and the proliferation of technological advancements, it is a superior strategy to design courses with regular assessments that will enhance a person's intellectual capability to do things that artificially intelligent systems will not be able to do. Thus, I disagree with the topic and opine that a change in the tradition assessment methods is not only an option but necessary for the students, who will become the innovators of tomorrow.