Fossil fuels (e.g. coals, oil and gas) are the main source of energy for most countries. However, alternative sources of energy (e.g. wind and solar) have been encouraged to be used by some countries.

To what extent is this a positive or negative development?

Today’s world most countries dominated to generate power from thermal stations; Whereas, other countries changing their method of producing electricity to renewable resources namely, solar energy, wind, and hydro power. As per my perception, I believe that it a positive step towards green energy and also it can be beneficial for economy. My justification will discussed further.

To begin with, the fossil fuel has very limited resource on the earth and it has many environmental drawbacks too. For an example, using non-renewable resources generate pollution in air, water and soil which affect negatively on living habitats. To taken over this problem some countries promoting renewable energy such as, wind power, solar energy, hydro power, and so on. which is cost effective and zero emission of harmful gases. The renewable energy has infinite sources for utilisation.

Furthermore, there are some nation which is encouraging people to use sustainable energy, for instance, India declare in the state of Gujarat 200,000 home would be solarised by march 2020 and total amount of power allocated in the scheme is 600MW. It means the consumption of coal and fossil fuel reduce by 25%. It will effect environment and economy. To explain this, electricity generated by solar so the air pollution has been decrease and through this scheme many solar industries get approach in their field.

In conclusion, non-renewable sources has very limited and it is also very costlier these days. To come over this situation there are some countries announce subsidy to promote renewable power. Which is beneficial for environment and generate new opportunity for businesses.