Friendships can be very meaningful and special, but also very complicated. What are the qualities of a great friend? What are some things that can weaken a close relationship over time?

Close friendships are very important, even though sometimes they can be challenging to maintain. Even when a close friend is understanding, honest, and fun, the friendship can suffer when the complications of life cause friends to drift apart.

Friends can fulfill many roles, but one of the most important is to be understanding. When someone is struggling, perhaps with an illness, a death in the family, or a recent breakup, a good friend will listen carefully and offer support without judgement. Friends are also honest. They will not say one thing to your face, but do something else later. A true friend will also tell the truth even if it is uncomfortable. For instance, she will offer her real opinion about your latest hairstyle, even if she thinks it looks terrible. Finally, a healthy friendship is fun. Friends know how to make each other laugh, and love to spend time doing things that both find enjoyable. Sometimes, the most meaningful moments between great friends can be as simple as having a good conversation over coffee.

However, even close friendships can fade over time. The main culprit, at least in my experience, is that friends drift apart because other priorities get in the way. When people are young, it is very easy to spend a lot of time with friends. Yet, with age comes new responsibilities and much less time to devote to others. New parents, for example, do not have much time to do anything other than focus on their baby. Work also puts pressure on time. Getting up early in the morning, meeting deadlines, and attending social events can severely limit the amount of time that’s left to devote to friends. All of these factors can take a toll. Without regular contact, a friendship can easily fade.

Nevertheless, even when great friends have been separated for a long time, they often still feel very close. Great friendships can withstand great challenges when two people share a deep connection.