Full-time education is necessary for all individuals before the age of 18

Many people argue that full-time education should be mandatory for all under 18 year olds. I agree with them.

Today, a quite large number of students quit school. One reason for their quit is plausible at first sight. Their family cannot offer financial support for them to go through high school education, so they start to work earlier to earn wages. But, however forgivable is their choice, labor market would not suspend its preference for educational qualifications. Those school leavers would eventually regret the decision, when they find, although having no difficulty in finding entry-level jobs, they are almost denied access to well-paid jobs that require high skills.

Apart from family financial difficulties, the main problem with those young leavers is that they cannot see the a realistic path between the denial of short-term benefits and a brighter prospect, even though they have been told so over and over again. The only thing to prevent they from making this inevitably regrettable decision is a law by the authorities to demand them stay at school before they finish high school courses.

Another problem too many school leavers would cause is a rise in adolescent crimes. Without the supervision of teachers and restrictions of school rules, teenagers are vulnerable to drug, alcohol and violence abuse. A city would be automatically more dangerous when gangs of youth roam on the street instead of at school. This is another important reason the administration should ban quitting school before 18 year old.

In sum, full-time education should be compulsory for all people aged under 18. However, a new law does not work automatically. Util the government offer universal free education, there would not be a sharp cut in the number of school leavers, because the problem would not have been fundamentally solved, that is to say, many children from poor family will still drop out of school. Hence, the administration should push free education as fast as possible.