In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers.

Do you think the advantages of diverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages.

Nowadays, it is anticipated that future means of transportation like cars, buses, and trucks will no longer require drivers, leaving only passengers traveling inside these types of vehicles. This development both brings out some pros and cons regarding the safety and the convenience it offers. However, from my perspective, I do not believe in the possibility of the advantages outweighing the disadvantages.

On the one hand, it is indisputable that transportation becoming driverless will benefit many people for some explicable reasons. First and foremost, chauffeurs are no longer necessary since vehicles can be automatically manipulated by advanced technologies. This offers more space within cars and puts passengers at ease when traveling thanks to some privacy factors. For example, travelers can feel free to have phone calls on sensitive topics without the fear of being listened to by the drivers. Moreover, eliminating the driving seats may result in fewer cases of accidents due to alcoholic overuse, which offers people a sense of safety.

However, on the other hand, driverless transportation can produce some malicious drawbacks which are threatening to society. First, automated vehicles can cause confusion when problems occur. It is extremely uncomfortable to see the high-tech systems breaking down in the middle of the streets, leaving the passengers inside with no basic knowledge to solve the issues immediately. In addition, GPS false navigation is another major drawback for driverless vehicles, which unexpectedly wastes people’s time. Simultaneously, malfunctions in the system operation may result in tragic accidents on the streets, costing the lives of many innocent people and leaving painful trauma for individuals.

In conclusion, although there are some compelling merits for the development of driverless transportation, I believe the downside effects of this situation still outweigh the advantages for some aforementioned reasons.