In the future, it may be necessary for us to live on another planet. For this reason, some people believe that we should spend money now researching planets that could be a possible home, such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people consider that in the coming years, our life on this planet would be extremely difficult due to the impact of mankind's activities. Therefore the administration should invest more money on researching available conditions for living on other planets, such as Mars. From my perspective, I strongly disagree with this notion for the following reasons.

First and foremost, it is undebatable that humans are the main factors which have gradually exploited the Earth for years. For instance, major factories around the world continue to expel harmful gases into the environment and dump poisonous waste into the seas and rivers and governments continue to clear forests for housing and industrialization unabated. I believe, rather than looking for options for living on other planets, we must protect our own planet and mend our ways before it is too late. Money poured into research on Mars should be diverted to those companies that are researching environmentally friendly energy resources. For example, money should be spent on ensuring widespread usage of solar panels for energy and for ensuring widespread availability of recycling facilities. This is a much better alternative than spending money on interplanetary voyages and will help us all to rectify the mistakes that we have committed.

Moreover, there is no guarantee that once we leave this planet and inhabit the next planet, we will not do the same treatment with it. The destruction of the next planet at the hands of mankind would be no surprise. Hence, it is better to dump this idea and work towards the betterment of our own planet. Furthermore, living on another planet will have its own share of problems. For instance, who gets to decide who is to be shifted and who is to be left behind. All of these problems are enough to abandon this idea and serve to depopulate our own planet so that mankind can continue to exist on this planet.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that money spent on research exploring new planets for living could be better utilized to explore ideas to halt our destructive impacts on the planet and to reverse the damage that has already been caused because this seems to be a more feasible agenda.