In the future nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying What extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Many people claim that printed newspapers and books will lose its appeal and people will tend to read books and newspapers online without purchasing. I totally disagree with this statement because reading devices are expensive and online books and newspapers hinder people from comprehending fully.

To begin with, nowadays, smartphones or tablets are too expensive that not almost people have their own. In more detail, many people are in poverty, they are unable to purchase for themselves a smartphone. According to a recent news shows that in Africa, most people are unable to buy technology devices for reading books and newspapers online, so they are only able to pay for printed books to keep themselves up-to-date. As a result, printed books and newspapers are still favored in some parts of the world.

Furthermore, online books and newspaper have curbed people from understanding fully stories or books. To be more specific, most people are losing their ability to understand fully a story or newspaper by reading online. According to a recent study, people, who are reading ebook or online articles, only understand for 30% to 50% of an article or story, while people, who are reading printed books or articles, can comprehend about 80% to 90% of a story. Therefore, online reading contribute detrimentally to our reading ability and our comprehension.

In conclusion, online reading could lead to many detrimental effects to us. Online books or newspapers may not only unaffordable but also they contribute negatively to our understanding and reading ability.