In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often claimed that in the future, the internet and free cyber platforms will replace prints in people’s reading habits. This essay totally agrees with this view owing to the following reasons.

One of the main reasons is that the internet and cutting-edge devices make digital books and newspapers much more at hand. To explain, thanks to state-of-the-art technology, people now can access online material with just a gadget no matter where they are, which seems effortless and handy. To illustrate, in Vietnam, most people use Kindle or other platforms such as Books by Apple to read instead of traditional materials. This is because they not only offer a huge source of ebooks and online materials, which are available and accessible on the cloud but they are also portable. Another reason is that it can be a solution to mitigate deforestation. In other words, making a number of books demanded in the future requires a hefty amount of wood, which directly leads to deforestation. One way to alleviate this issue is to encourage people to use cyber books and newspapers so that the number of trees cut down to produce paper may be reduced. Brazil is a prime example whose authorities have several policies to encourage residents to use ebooks, which results in the 10% rehabilitation of Amazon forest due to low demand. Hence, online books and newspapers will change people’s reading tendencies in the future.

Despite that, others still believe that using digital appliances makes them distracted. They often complain about their reading being interrupted because of what is happening on social media. To this, people should blame themselves for lacking self-discipline instead of accusing tools for disturbing them. Moreover, nowadays advanced devices are integrated with new features that help maintain user's concentration. Obviously, it is ill founded to state that.

In conclusion, I totally support the idea that in the future, people will switch to ebooks and online newspapers because it is not only handy but also ideal to mitigate deforestation. Furthermore, this will not necessarily interrupt the user's reading process as many people are concerned.