In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars.

Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In some countries, small businesses downtown are obsolete since residents switch into commuting to shopping malls on the outskirts by cars. This may lead to an increase in personal car consumption since the ability to access these malls for those who do not have a car is restricted. In my opinion, the benefits of this trend surpass the drawbacks that it has.

One positive aspect of this trend is that it can help alleviate traffic congestion in city centre. To explain, people drive to the suburbs to do shopping, which may reduce the number of vehicles travelling in the stress and release the traffic load in the city. For example, in Hanoi, one of the most populous cities in Vietnam, shopping malls such as Big C and Aeon Mall are often located in the outskirts to mitigate crowded stress in these malls’s area. Another advantage of this trend is that it is more handy for customers. In more details, out-of-town stores are normally mega malls which are often constructed in the suburbs since it offers larger space and more facilities included. Hence, people can purchase goods and use entertainment services at once. As a result, city dwellers consider choosing to go shopping in mega malls out of town is a good idea.

Despite these, some people still claim that people without personal vehicles may have difficulty in accessing these shopping centres. They may believe that using a personal vehicle to go shopping may help them gain self-reliance and prevent time consuming. To this, I would agree that they can travel by public transport. Specifically, public transport system is becoming more cutting-edge and ubiquitous. Therefore, it is ill founded to state that.

To conclude, the benefits of this trend are certainly more significant as it not only is more convenient but also helps mitigate traffic jams. Not only that, it is not a problem for those who do not own a private vehicle as many people are concerned.