Genetic engineering is an important issue in modern society. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others think that it is a threat to life on earth. Discuss both views.

Some people often argue that genetic engineering has now become a vital problem in modern society and it can exert great impacts upon people’s lives in many aspects. In my opinion, however, I strongly believe that these negatives far outweighed these positive ones.

On the one hand, I agree that genetic engineering has brought certain values to our human lives. Firstly, some genetically modified crops grow much more quickly. This phenomenon plays a fundamental role in increasing farmers’ incomes and their living standard. Secondly, scientists can utilize this methodology to produce vaccines and drugs to cure diseases. Therefore, such kinds of inherited illnesses would no longer exist and there would be a constant increase in life expectancy worldwide. Finally, it is of greatly possible to clone human organs as we could have replacement body parts such as heart, lung and so on. Take an example of people with pain sufferings from their hearts, researchers can double one heart from normal people to help them become stronger again.

On the other hand, this methodology does more harm to people than good. From an ethical perspective, opponents show their concerns towards its effects later as it is unnatural. To be more specific, clones might even be developed just for organ replacements. In fact, it is considered unacceptable in most regions and human genetic engineering is even prohibited worldwide.

In conclusion, although there are some people approve the use of genetic engineering due to its benefits, I personally reckon that it is not appropriate as it is unnatural and unethical.