Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It would be argued by some people that sending children to single-sex schools does more good than co-ed schools. In my opinion, however, I believe that attending integrated education would be much better for youngsters.

On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why some reckon that boys and girls should be taught separately. The first reason is that there will be less chance to result in teenage hormone problems, which takes fewer risks of facilitating earlier relationships between two genders. Another cause is that discipline issues might be avoided. Therefore, girls are not likely to be easily intimidated, thereby leading to a comfortable learning environment. The last reason is that lessons can be adapted to learners’ needs and interests. To be more specific, the same gender often has the same hobby such as cooking, sewing so they can learn together.

On the other hand, I would argue that being sent to mixed-gender schools would be a much better choice. Firstly, only co-ed schools can mirror the real future life and work. When boys and girls go to the same schools, they would develop communication, team working and understanding between two genders unlike single-gender educations. Hence, one who graduated from separate schools despite higher academic results would find it hard to collaborate with colleges of opposite sex. Furthermore, integrated educations provide scholastic competitiveness which will motivate students to compete and success.

In conclusion although some people think that young people should attend single-sex schools, I personally believe that mixed-gender would be much better.