Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

There is a widespread belief that national and local authorities should introduce restrictions on funding provision on some forms of art such as music or theatre. Instead, priority should be given to public services. As far as I am concerned, although art is paramount importance, excessive focusing on this discipline can be disadvantageous.

On the one hand, it is true that prioritizing national budget on art may be beneficial. In terms of entertainment, music and theatre are ubiquitous forms of recreation in host of parts of the world, people tend to unwind themselves by listening to music or going to the cinema after their hard-working days. Therefore, high quality pieces of music or movies can bring sense of satisfaction and lead to a more sufficient working results. Movie theatres or music studios also bring more job opportunities for youngsters to earn a living. From the perspective of knowledge, some famous songs or dramas are likely to include the tradition of particular regions. Hence, people can have more opportunities to broaden knowledge about their culture, which gives strong senses of identity and provides a link to our roots.

On the other hand, I also put forward the argument that excessive funding provided on art by governments also brings some notable drawbacks. Firstly, in some developing countries, issues such as environment or healthcare have become serious problems, and the authorities are trying their best to mitigate this by wide range of policies. Therefore, investing chiefly on art means inadequate money can be given on dealing with those problems. Secondly, contributing on arts is not only a duty of government. Private corporations must be responsible for the development of arts in order to expand their reputation and help their culture and tradition become more viral.

In conclusion, it seems to me that although national budget should be utilised to develop numerous forms of arts, private organizations ought to allocate resources in this fields to reduce burden of government.