The government’s investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Government should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is often argue that the Government should finance public services instead of spending its budget on arts, music and theatre. Although I agree that the Government’s investment in public services play a vital role, I think that proper finding in arts sector is also pivotal for the society.

On the one hand, plans and budgets should be made in the favor of public because good plans would give some kind of relief to the people in this period of inflation. The government should utilize the expenditure in a proper way to reduce the price of basic things which are essential for the necessity of the life. Moreover, they should use the funds in the infrastructure of the country, provide quality education and better health treatment facilities to facilitate their citizens. For example, any county can live without any music concert but the absence of food and medicine would be a significant problem. Therefore, the Government should look for the betterment of their people.

On the other hand, arts and cinemas are also important as it create a source of an entertainment for the people. It provides a kind of relaxation and recreation for an individual. The government should propose some ideas for the development of modern cinemas and music and give a proper and respective place for traditional music because it is an identity and tradition of a culture. In addition, with the advancements in these entertainment places can attract a lot of tourists and can be proved as a tremendous role in the progress of a nation. For instance, London is one of the popular city in the European state which is well known for many live shows and well-renowned art galleries. Therefore an art is an important for the society and should not be neglected.

To recapitulate, though I agree that the government should allocate a large part of its budget for the needs of the society, I think that arts, music and theatre should also be financed so that people should know their traditional values and also get familiar with the old methods of an entertainment source like folk music etc.