The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Over the years mankind has recognised the need for improving life in all its areas, which has led to a search for a balance in investing in the good. In this regard some people believe that the development of art is money down the drain and it should be spent on improving life support systems. Although investment in infrastructure and public goods is vital, sponsoring creative sector is important as a foundation for the development of human culture.

On the one hand, a satisfactory and well-organized supply net improves the quality of bipedal life at times. Most people would agree that the good grade of urban systems and the corresponding simplification of life permit focusing on other important matters. Otherwise, a constant return to solving everyday issues lead to stagnation in all other spheres of the individuals and, accordingly, of humanity. Even «New Your Times» says that reducing the energy and time costs of each individual to solve everyday problems in the short-term will advance an upsurge in various humanity areas. Thus, investment in infrastructure will not only improve the lives of every person, but it will also lead to development in other areas.

On the other hand, a civilized, society brings order to people's heads and assumes to save money on the systems that protect a person from themselves. Individuals with unstructured and selfish ideas about life and culture bring ruin to public that has to be constantly corrected. Therefore, treating the "disease", not the "symptoms" leads to lowering social expenses, eventually extricating funds that can be directed to more useful things. According to “Forbes” magazine, providing community with cultural goods such as theatre, music and creative activities teaches society responsible behaviour resulting in the 27 %- governmental cost reduction. Hence, the sponsorship of the arts creates a healthy society that, in its own responsibility, will release capitals for the development of other areas.

To sum up, it is clear that the government should accumulate its funds in order to direct the staffing of services and institutions that promote the culture of society. As a result, a balanced approach to the distribution of the budget will lead to the development of all areas.