The government should ban smoking in all public places even though this would restrict some other people s freedoms Do you agree or disagree Give reasons for your answer

Nowadays, the number of people who suffer from respiratory diseases such as lungs cancer and pneumonia are increasing at an alarming rate, and smoking is one of the main reasons which leads to this issue. Smoking in public places has been banned by some governments, even this has affected the freedom of living people. However, I completely agree with this point of view and I will give the reason why in this essay.

Let us start by looking at why smoking in public is such a bad thing for many people. First of all, inhaling a great amount of smoke can bring about the harmful effect not only on smokers but also the non-smokers. As we have known, children's respiratory system is not as good as those of adults, so they are the one who most likely to be affected by the smoke. For example, a man is enjoying his cigarette while he is waiting at the train station, the dispersion of smoke can be inhaled by the babies and their mothers sitting next to him. Furthermore, it is regarded as the responsibilities of the grown-ups for smoking in front of a lot of people including children and teenagers, as this unintentional advertisement will strongly affect children's actions in their later life. Obviously, they tend to mimic what their parents were doing.

On the other side, while smoking or not lies on each personal willingness, it can be seen as selfish and unfair for those who smoke cigarettes for recreational activities. Some may argue that it is basically the same as the notion of wearing perfumes and colognes in public. As the fragrances are also dispersed to around area, affecting surrounding people to a certain level. However, the effect is not so detrimental to the public, whereas smoke and ashes can gradually damage people's health.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that whether to smoke or not depends on people's own choice. But, since cigarettes can only bring about more harm than good overall, publicly smoking should be managed through the way the government establishing preferential policies to restrict the amount of smoke being dumped into the atmosphere.