In developing countries, children in rural communities have less access to education. Some people believe that the problem can be solved by providing more schools and teachers, while others think that the problem can be solved by providing computers and I

Nowadays, in most of the rural areas in developing countries, there is a fact that children are not being provided easy access to a diverse range of education fields. While some may argue that this can be solved by simply sending more teachers to those communities to work in local schools, others think that internet access and computers providing could come in handy. These two approaches have distinct advantages and disadvantages, and I will discuss those in this essay.

Let us begin by looking at the benefits of increasing the availability of teachers in remote areas. First of all, children would have a better chance to catch up with their peers who are studying in urban areas. Previously, if students have any question regarding the lessons, they can simply ask their formal mentor for further explanation. However, this incredible advantage is prevalent only for the city kids, and this somehow creates a big leap for them to out-perform the students living in the countryside. Moreover, less in the number of teachers available means that some subjects may never be taught. For example, my niece living in the countryside cannot learn Physics because her teacher has to come back to the city to continue teaching.

On the other side, computer and internet access are having positive impacts on student's learning. As we may have known, a computer can contain an Encyclopedia Brittanica, which would in paper volume, take up a whole shelf section. This allows students to freely access any fields of study that they might want to pursue during their schooling. Furthermore, a significant number of available documentaries and articles are uploaded every day on the internet, including visual aids and demonstrative images, may be a great source of studying references for learners at any age. Especially, using a computer only requires basic skills with mouse and pad, whereas training a teacher could take years to be able to deliver a lesson.

In conclusion, it has always been a controversial issue over whether learning with computer aids or with teachers is a better method. Personally, I think that we should apply a balance between those two ways in order to reach maximum effectiveness in learning.