Some people think that computer and internet are important in children study but other think students can learn effectively in schools and with teachers.discuss both sides and give your opinion

Computer and the internet are now becoming essential in many areas of life, especially in the acquisition of knowledge of young children. While some schools offer online courses which students mainly learn via the internet, other schools still stick with the conventional learning methods. In this essay, I will look at both sides of the argument.

On the one hand, some may argue that computer can help liven up teachers' lesson plans, which is a good thing for students, because they represent important concepts with demonstrative images and sounds. Multimedia facilities are good aids because not only they can provide an endless number of practical questions in a shorter time but also can learner's feedbacks and homework are responded and marked automatically and correctly. When this process is repetitive, the facts are learned and reinforced. Moreover, the internet comes in handy when an 12 cm in diameter computer disc can store a whole Encyclopedia Brittanica, which in printed volumes, can take up a shelf section. Because of that, students can look for any information they need just by a few clicks, without having to be presented at the library or in schools to ask for their teachers' opinions.

On the other hand, computer and the internet may be useful to elementary language learning or elementary mathematics, because they tend to solve simple problems only. For more complex ideas, the role of teacher is indispensable. While computers can recognize errors fast and easy, they cannot spot at what stages the student has made a mistake. Teachers are able to monitor student's grasp of concepts and be involved at the right time to help fixing the problem. Furthermore, school is a place where young children gather to be educated by their formal educators and learn from each other. If children are compelled sitting in front of the screen instead of being out there, learning and bouncing ideas with their friends, they may feel lost due to the lack of social skill in later life.

To conclude, in both ways of learning, there are also advantages and disadvantages with it. Personally, I think that it is better to let children learn via traditional methods, which involves interaction with friends and teachers, and computer could play a supportive role to boost children's knowledge acquisition speed.