The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television in order to decrease the violent crimes in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this issue?

It is generally believed that the government should take the responsibility to limit the amount of violence in movies and television as a way to decelerate the violent crimes in society. In my opinion, I agree with this solution but I believe it still present several drawbacks.

One the one hand, I suppose that confining the quantity of violence films is advantageous to some extent. The main benefit is that this approach serves as a remedy to alleviate the incidence of violent crimes from its root. For example, if a person has a tendency to murder another, they probably take experience to commit the crime from negative actions on television or movies. Moreover, such solution offers a tremendous assistance in reducing the crime rate in the future as the current mass media exerts enormous influence on young generation. For example, youngsters who are prevented from watching violence movies have lower possibilies to offend in their future than those who are often exposed to violence scenes.

On the other hand, although there are merits in such strategy, I believe its disadvantages should be considered. Firstly, if the government controls the amount of violence on films or televisions, those products will probably be unrealistic performances. Since one of the key factors of movies is it have to seem like reality, restriction of such factor, thus, leads to the decline in the number of audiences. People therefore are not willing to pay for an action movies which have no or limited violence events. Secondly, film companies and television stations possibly encounter the deceleration of profits on account of the decrease of watchers. As a result, films industry and even the economy of the nation will suffer.

In conclusion, beneficial as the ramification is, I believe there are still several consequences that need to be took into account.