Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Transportation is one of the key sectors that governments have been concentrating on. The idea that railways should be invested instead of roads is widely supported. From my perspective, I largely agree with this viewpoint, but also believe there may have other side effects as well.

There are no rooms for doubts that enhacing railways brings benefits in different ways. First of all, trains plays an integral role in shipping cargo in this burgeoning world. As the demand of transportation in term of intercity and international trade due to opening economy, train is the favoured option with economical fuel yet massive amount of freight. Moreover, passenger trains are also highly recommended. With cutting-edge railways, geographical features like rough mountains are no longer obstacles. For examples, express trains can now go through mountains or go underwater while passengers are able to feel relaxing, comfortable and safe. Furthermore, this can be the springboard to push up and diversify tourism if railroads are invested thoroughly. That trains are not, however, flexible is the reason why some people unprefer trains.

On the other hand, improving roads should be taken into consideration due to its merits. Obviously, people feel more independent and flexible when using their own vehicles. In other words, better roads accompaning with suitable logistics can meet travellers' demands. In addition, although trains have advantages in shipping cargo among countries or cities, people prefer using trucks and lorries to customers' places or warehouses in inner city due to its door-to-door services. In fact, it is crucial to develop logistics to avoid traffic jams especially in peak hours, which is the worldwide unsolvable issue. Therefore, governments should not neglect developing roads.

In conclusions, railways and roads are both important in their own ways and should be invested harmonizedly.