A government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often considered that the government should invest a large number on money on the construction of railways and spend less on roadways. I strongly agree with this statement because travelling by trains is more convenient and less production of emission than by motors.

Travelling by locomotive vehicles can take passengers to their destination faster due to the trains do not need to get in terrible traffics like automotive does; moreover, the less time people spend in commuting, the more time they can use to work. For example, most people in Bangkok must lose over 2 hours of their working time for getting to workplace, later on, after the Thai government has introduced railways transportation in there, Thai people can use them to travel across Bangkok faster and easier.

In term of environmental aspects, automotive vehicles, which mainly consume fossil fuel, produced plenty of emission that affect to health of people there. Even though there are less emission produced by one car compared to one train, but more than hundred passengers can travel together in a one route while car is mostly available for 3-4 persons. For instance, in Bangkok, there is a campaign about encouraging people not to travel by private vehicles and to use public transportation especially by trains that aims to reduce the pollution generated by the combustion engine; therefore, this campaign will lead the environment of Bangkok to be better.

In summary, there are many advantages that governments should split their money to construct public transportation system particularly in railways which can decrease commuting time and also keep environment in good condition.