Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, highly sophisticated land transportation facilities guarantee a country supreme financial growth and development. There has-been heated discussions as to whether the authorities should provide more monetary allowances to the railways than to the road transport system. This disquisition enunciate the necessity of imparting higher budgetary allocation to the development of rail infrastructure with supporting evidence and facts.

To embark on,a well established railway system is helpful for the easy movement of huge amount of goods. Trade and logistics through the railways would be faster than that by the roadway, thus it aids for the easy functioning of industries. For example,in India,coal and other products are carried directly from the mine to the factories by goods train,so that it reaches to the plant in higher quantity within short period of time. Secondly, the cost of rail transport is comparatively lesser than that of the road transport system. For industries it would be more easy to depend on railways because of the lower price packages. Hence it goes without saying that governments should provide more financial assistance to develop rail transportation.

Furthermore, trains are the fastest way of land transportation. It helps large number of passengers to travel conveniently regardless of distance. Unlike the road trip,a train journey consumes less time and money of the travellers. Also, railways are more safer than the roadway because of less accident rates. Thus it is the need of the hour to pay more attention to the development of railway system.

However, roadways also serve the nation in different manner. It is impossible to imagine a country without proper road transport facilities. So, both rail and road transport system need equal financial support from the government as both these boost the country's growth to great extent.

In conclusion, it can be irrefutably stated that,the state has to spend more for railways because of its important role in the smooth functioning of industries and contributions to the revenue. It is hoped that the authorities would pay more attention to railways for the prosperity of the entire nation.