Government should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree orr disagree with this statement.

Some people think that railways should be invested more money instead of roads. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this idea.

Roads play an important role in transportation systems of all countries. This is especially true in rural and remote areas such as some provinces in NorthWest of Vietnam, here people have to go on foot or by bicycles because of very sloop mountains which are very difficult to travel. In these regions, roads play an integral part in satisfying the base traveling demand of citizens. In addition, roads are more convenient for various demands of travelers. Because by roads, people can travel to different places whenever they want to go and with whatever the distances are.

On the other hand, if governments give high priorities on building railways, the costs are huge and not all countries can have sufficient finance sources to invest for such plans. In some developing countries like Vietnam for instance, the governments needs to borrow or receive large supporting funds from international donors to develop their railway systems. Moreover, in order to build an effective railway network, a country needs to have a suitable infrastructure including train stations, a lot of connecting routes that enable travelers to conveniently reach their destinations. Thus, not all governments can satisfy the requirements.

In conclusion, although railways are important, investments spending on the transportation system without paying enough money for roads are not good ideas for governments.