Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In numerous countries, the national investment to enhance the railway system is preferable to utilizing it to strengthen the transport infrastructures. I totally agree with this statement because of the following reasons.

Initially, it is undeniable that expending money on the cutting-edge train system means that people can get around their nation faster and more convenient. This is a result of the reduction in congestion that most road users experience, as well as the fact that trains can reach a much higher speed than cars. Moreover, people would consume less time commuting and save more time to focus on their work, this impact not only increases their work's quality but also benefits the entire society. For instance, the British Government recently unveiled a plan to connect London with the North of England via a high-speed rail network, allowing thousands of people in the Midlands to work in London.

In the comparison with cars, locomotives show the tendency to be less harmful to the environment. This is due to the fact that a train can carry hundreds of passengers, leading to the prevention of internal combustion engines using, thus reducing the amount of carbon emission. As there has been an outburst in population, this solution might decrease the carbon footprint significantly. For example, Hochi Minh City will soon inaugurate its first underground metro service, resulting in the reduction of the number of private vehicles on the road.

To summarize, governments should divert more funds to railway systems and investigate less on transport infrastructures as this not only improve living standards but also be less harmful to the environment.