Some people say that in our modern age, it is unnecessary to teach children about the skills of handwriting.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In this technological era, some people believe that teaching their children to write by hand is unimportant because there are a huge number of supporting choices by technology. From my personal perspective, I strongly disagree with this notion for two following reasons.

First and foremost, at the individual level, writing plays an important role in the cognitive development of children. A research which had been done by the participation of 50 children used two distinct methods to teach them about the alphabet, the first one combined both graphic illustrations and self-writing while the second one only used images. The result proved that after a short time, two groups of children showed the similar result, however, a test which was taken a month after indicated that the children who followed the first method overweight the second group. It is also true with numerous secondary and high schools students, who consider that memorizing knowledge which was taken note by themself is easier than using other’s notes.

At the social level, handwriting presents culture and tradition. Maybe with some countries which use the latin alphabet or the same language with others, like America or the UK, handwriting is just letters, but with nations having their own unique alphabets, such as China or Japan, it is vital to preserve handwriting, because it is one of their national legacy. Not only shows the colour of one's own country, handwriting also tells us about our overwhelming history, from the victories to the development of every single area. There is no doubt why our government spends a huge amount of budget in preserving the national language and letters, and the general education program still forces us into learning handwriting in primary schools. For instance, Chinese administrations have warned that with the outburst of technological devices, such as mobile phones or computers, the youngsters gradually forgot how to write Chinese symbols by themselves, so the government has launched numerous campaigns or projects to encourage seniors learn more about the beauty of national language to conserve the national identity as well as avoid the cultural degradation.

In conclusion, it is beneficial to take advantage of technology in daily life, however, it is not reasonable to avoid our responsibility in teaching our seniors about handwriting, which is one of our most outstanding cultural specificities.