Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There have been heated controversies over governmental budget. It is said that public funding should be allocated to improving railways rather than public streets. On balance, from my perspective, I completely concur with the given statement for some reasons which are going to be discussed in the essay.

On the one hand, investing in public roads and driveways is beneficial for many people. To begin with, road expansions mean fewer traffic congestions, enhancing individuals’ satisfaction when driving to work or traveling with families. In addition, it is undeniable that severe accidents often occur on driveways on account of technical issues regarding the quality of infrastructures. Therefore, with sufficient national focus, public streets will be safer and more reliable for citizens, curbing the number of tragic cases on the streets. However, unfortunately, road improvements can not help to deal with the environmental issues such as greenhouse effects caused by cars and heavy vehicles.

On the other hand, it is indisputable that the railways' renovations are obviously bringing some benefits for the public as a whole. First and foremost, funding the upgrades of railway systems is equivalent to protecting the environment, which additionally contributes to global efforts and commitment to controlling the detrimental effects of global warming. To be more specific, developing public underground subways can attract individuals to use public transport instead of private vehicles, which eventually hamper the decreasing condition of air pollution since less emission is wasted into the atmosphere. Moreover, constructing modern long-distance train systems provide citizens with crucial benefits regarding time management and convenience. For instance, traveling between cities is no longer a pressing issue thanks to the improvement of modern railway systems, which in turn offers people more spare time for other personal purposes.

In conclusion, railway systems deserve the investment of governments since it provides more benefits relating to saving the environment and improving public satisfaction.