Some people believe that a gap year between school and university is a good idea, while
others disagree strongly. Consider both sides of this debate and present your own opinion.
You should give reasons for your answer, and include ideas and examples from your own
knowledge and experience.
While gap years are increasingly popular, they continue to be rather controversial because the
benefits are hard to quantify exactly. There are arguments on both sides of this very topical debate,
and I will discuss them now.
On the one hand, opponents of gap years point to the cost involved in areas such as air fares,
accommodation and living expenses. All this money has to come from the student’s family, or even
from borrowing to be paid later. Secondly, it is often said that gap years take a young person’s focus
away from studying, and allows them to get involved in distractions such as travelling. This can make
it hard to adjust to university life, damaging the student’s performance. Finally, there is a concern
over the safety of young people if they are travelling to remote places. Being kidnapped or mugged is
a poor start to an academic career, after all.
On the other hand, supporters of gap years say that the skills learned outweigh the
disadvantages. They highlight the independence and assertiveness that a student will acquire, in areas
such as time management and interpersonal skills. They also say that these skills lead to greater
career success later in life, thus cancelling out the costs involved. Furthermore, there are many
examples of young people using gap years to achieve something significant, whether in voluntary
work or in a sector of business that interests them.
In conclusion, my own feeling is that a year off can indeed be a useful activity, with the
experience leading to improved skills that are invaluable in the future. Of course, this is provided that
the year is planned carefully and used for something genuinely worthwhile.