Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Developed and safe transportation are the main key factor for country's progress. People need safe and solid transportation as well as business to produce more economic growth. In my opinion, authorities should subsidise both railroads and highways for their advantages they provide to people and societies.

Developing railways benefit societies in many aspects. First of all, trains have less effect on environment pollution. Secondly, because of the train's capacity, it can transport a huge number of people which contributes in reducing the carbon dioxide emitted with only one trip as well as avoid the traffic cognition that is caused by cars. Moreover, in terms of goods and products transportation, a train is considerable a reliable, safe and fast mode of transportation which is preferred by many firms for their business and that leads to more economic growth for societies. Thus, governments have to support and spend some money for railways for the previous benefits.

However, many individuals prefer to commute by their own cars or other public transportation on highways for many reasons. To begin with, people feel more convenient and private when using their cars. They are also available in most times. Although buses is less available comparing to the cars, they have more frequent timetable than trains which the time is the main key factor that make many employee, students and others relay on buses. So authorities should disburse some money on developing and maintenance roads and highways not only to reduce the traffic cognition, but also the casualties that are, in most cases, cause by cars.

To conclude, in my view, governments have to put fair budget on railways, highways and roads due to their benefits towards societies and dwellers.