Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads To what extent do you agree or disagree

With the ever increasing demand for a well-established transport system, expenditure on transport has been discussed. Some people argue that more money should be spent on railways than roads, while I disagree with this idea and I believe that both constructions should be emphasized.

There are a variety of reasons for supporters to emphasize the importance of railway transportation. Firstly, with high speeds, railways could reduce the time spent on commuting and improve the efficiency of transportation. Secondly, the railway system is so specifically designed that no traffic jams could occur. Finally, compared with the road transport system, railways are safer, dramatically reducing traffic accidents. However, if there is an unlimited explosion of underground space, the city would be potentially in danger, since a collapse would happen whenever and wherever.

Nevertheless, the road provides more convenient transport for people in comparison with other types of transportation. When people go somewhere that is not far away from their home, they can ride a bike or walk, which is feasible and environmentally-friendly. Furthermore, road transportation makes it possible for them to access small brounches of roads that lead them to their destinations directly. For example, residents could arrive at the gate of supermarkets by their vehicles and it is accessible for commuters to take a cab at their company's entrance without walking a few minutes to stations nearby.

In conclusion, both railways and road transportation play a vital role in the development of a city and both of them should be emphasized.