In some cultures children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try harder enough What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children children this message

It is true that many children are encouraged and educated by the idea that all goals can be achieved through hard work. I believe that this cognition to some extent plays a vital role in helping children succeed, yet it has also downsides.

There is no denying that encouraging children to work hard so as to achieve their final goals can improve their motivation and braveration to pursue what they want. When holding the faith that all can be achieved through consistent effort, children would have more courage and confidence and would be more likely to scale the peak that they have always been looking forward. Forthermore, even though there are obstables and difficulties on their travel to the peak, children who believe that had word can fight against all would never be disencouraged. Instead, hey would work harder untile they can suceed. It seems that as long as it is the belief of individual efforts that encourages children make great achievements.

Yet there are downsides if children only focus on hard work. To start with, over emphasis on individual efforts may consume people's too much time and energy which, overwise, can be invested in more essencial things. For example, people who have talents in academic researching may waste time in struggling with market business and their strength and talents cannot be fully used. In addition, people influenced by the idea that hard work can overcome all difficulties may be trapped in a wrong method to pursue their goals and they may work harder to go forward instead of using new methods. What's more, people may blame themselves when they fail for several times, thus becoming less and less confident.

In conclusion, I believe that there are both benefits and drawbacks for people to believe that all can be achieved by hard work.