Governments spend millions of dollars each year on their space programmes. Most recently, Mars is the focus of scientists' attention. Some people think this money would be better spent on dealing with problems closer to home. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the government spends a colossal amount of money when it comes to exploring outer space and the most recent focus of researchers' attention is mars. While some believe that funds should be allocated to more pressing issues to be dealt here on Earth, I feel that it is equally important to fund space programmes because it has several advantages to the human race.

The allocation of money by the government creates countless job opportunities. Courses which are related to this field like scientist, chemists and engineers are given the chance to practice and work their respective profession. Moreover, it is a complex and diverse field of science that requires different set of knowledge, skills and talents and it is only fair that the majority of the money goes to the salary of these professionals.

Also, there was a time that the creation of machineries used for space exploration has helped the medical field. One example is the digital imaging processing device that was used by National Aeronautics and space Administration (NASA) to develop pictures contributed to the developement of Magnetic Resonance imaging (MRI) and Computerized Tomography (CAT scans). Furthermore, they have also contributed to the the creation of programmable pacemakers and tools used for cataract surgery. it definitely does not waste the government's resources if this is how space studies can contribute to other discoveries.

Finally, the survival of the human race is important; therefore, it is only reasonable to know if life on other planets is possible, especially on mars. studies on the possibility on the existence of other life forms in planets like Uranus, Neptune and Saturn have already started and scientists have used robots and extensive research on these planets and discovered that they have several elements and signs of life. it is only ideal to spend more money for further research.

In conclusion, Although there are those who believe that, rather spending money on space studies, problems should be addressed here on our planet, I feel that researching about space can bring more benefits such as jobs, technological breakthroughs and the possibility of living in another planet.