A growing number of people work by telecommuting, that is, the employee works from home, using a computer and the Internet to connect with the office.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of working this way?

While telecommuting is becoming increasingly popular, there are both benefits and drawbacks to this way of working. Telecommuting has many conveniences for the employee, and it can help the employer cut costs as well. On the other hand, employers often feel it makes it more difficult to manage their workers.

Telecommuting makes things more convenient for the employee. For one thing, the is no need to spend time and money commuting between work and home. In addition, the employee can wear casual clothes most days so does not have to spend a lot of time and money shopping for work clothes. Finally, working at home means the employee has more time to devote to family responsibilities such as cooking, cleaning, and childcare.

Another thing to be considered is telecommuting allows the employer to cut costs so the company is able to save money for another thing. Knowing that most employee can work from home, the employer can rent a smaller office for operational matters because they do not really need a big space working place. Moreover, they can reduce the amount of equipment installed at the office since most of the employee does not work at the office. In spite of the tiny working place and less equipment, the company will require smaller support staff.

However, there is a challenge for a company which allows doing telecommuting. The biggest problem is they will face more difficulties to manage own workers. Telecommuting means the employer will not have full control of what the employee are doing since they can be in various place, city, or even country. It may cause hard to supervise work. The supervisor also can not make sure how well the employee manages their time. They do not really know whether the workers are overload or not. Furthermore, when there is something urgent and they need to have a meeting in person, it will be hard to do immediately.

Based on what has explained, telecommuting has several positive impacts on the company but also has some negative aspects. In conclusion, the advantages of telecommuting are stand out more than the drawbacks, so I personally think that telecommuting will gain more benefits for both employer and employee if it is applied.