Some people believe that children should not be given homework every day, while others believe that they must get homework every day in order to be successful at school.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In our formal education system, it is a well-known fact that teachers give homework to their students almost every day. There are several pros and cons to giving homework every day. In my opinion, doing homework every day is not sufficient to achieve success at school. I believe that to be successful at school, kids need to improve not only in academics but also in many other aspects.

People tend to believe that the meaning of success can be described only by numbers and score written in the academic report, but in reality, it is not the case. In fact, successful students can also be recognized by their attitude, social or organizational skills and so on. Students that are able to get an excellent score but have poor attitude cannot be considered as success.

Giving homework is just another way to make students get good scores in the exam. When they do homework, they are repeating the course taught at school and memorize all the things so before they even realize it, it is already stored in their head. One good thing about this habit is that the students are probably going to do well on the exam because practice makes perfect.

However, doing homework every day prevents kids from exploring many other interesting things at school outside of curriculum. They only focus on their grade without considering other sides that can actually be their own strength. Children are always busy doing their homework and do not have time to engage in activities that enhance their soft skills.

To conclude, I personally think that teachers should not give homework every day. It does not mean that they do not need but too much homework is bad. Teachers should give them enough time and space to discover their talents as they are in the process of self-development.