Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extend do you agree?

As technology now is growing rapidly, people must get used to a new way of communication. We are able to reach each other through social networking sites or well-known as social media. This changes may provide negative impact like spending more time on gadget than socializing with people. On the flip side, social media also acquire several benefits, such as allowing us to share and change ideas or knowledge, communicating with long-distance acquaintances.

Playing social media makes our society from children to adults are getting addicted to the mobile phone. They often keep scrolling down their social media every day. Without realizing, they waste their time mostly on it. If we do not pay attention to this habit, we will end up having fun with our cell phone and forget the importance of social life. It may lead to an increase in our individualistic and reduce our value as a human being.

In spite of the drawback mentioned, social media is proven to bring some positive impacts on our life as well. First, we are able to share and gain knowledge through social media. Once we connect to the internet, we can enhance our skill by reading news, articles shared by other people. Moreover, this benefit might make us keep up to date with the current event happening around the world. Another impact is social media establish an easier process to talk with our relatives who live far away. We still can connect with them and know how well they are doing there through social media.

In conclusion, I personally agree that social media bring a negative impact on our society. But knowing the fact that it also benefits us more than what might danger us as explained. In the end, we should be fully aware of the potential negative effect from social media and use it wisely to get more advantages from it.