With growing population in cities more and more people live in a home with small or no outdoor areas Is it a positive or negative development
Since there is an increasing number of people residing in urban areas, a vast
majority of them resort to houses with almost no open air spaces. While this
tendency initiates controversial debates, I am of the opinion that it triggers adverse
e ects on house owners’ physical and mental health.
The most evident demerit would be degrading health conditions of the residents.
First and foremost, people living in almost totally indoor spaces may su er from
respiratory diseases and illnesses, since this type of house has fewer vents for air to
circulate, causing the harmful germs and virus to be trapped indoor. For example,
an enclosed apartment is the ideal environment for SARS-COVI-2 virus to proliferate
and infect those staying inside. In addition, little or no open space would limit
people from exercising, which may act as a contributor to overweight or obesity, or
even further, cardiovascular and circulatory diseases.
At the same time, I believe that enclosed house owners are more likely prone to
some sorts of mental issues. In fact, little exposure to sunlight and exercises is one
of the main reasons people have to deal with psychogenic relating problems like stress or depression. This is because sunlight and exercising help relieve nervous
tension, thus decrease mental disorders inducing elements. A recent research from
John Hopkins University states that spending at least an hour jogging outdoor would
improve people’s mental health and reduce the chance of getting psychiatric
disorder by 30%.
In conclusion, the trend of no-open-space home is apparently conducive to the
deteriorating physical as well as mental condition of citizens.