Herd Immunity

Can it protect us from Covid-19? What other measures can be used to protect the world population from Covid-19?

As the COVID-19 pandemic is affecting us in every aspects of life, there has been suggestions that herd immunity, either by vaccination or infection, would protect us from the pandemic. To my point of view, herd immunity is a very good way to face with the COVID-19, yet it can not fully protect us from the pandemic. And there are many other ways to shield the word population from the deadly virus.

There is no concern that herd immunity will decrease the posibilities of us getting infected, therefore protecting us better. Yet there are downsides to this measure. It is a fact that herd immunity by vaccination is difficult to achieve as there are many governments can not afford to buy the vaccine due to the expensive cost to purchase and maintain. Herd immunity however, only affective when a vast of population has been immuted, so only developed countries can be truely protected from the pandemic, which lead to the the following problem. We've know that the virus has many variants evoluting everytime it infect a new patient and at some points when the new variant has been fully developed, it can resist against the antigens in vaccine. That's when the herd immunity lose its effect. In short terms, despite vaccination can protect us effectively, herd immunity can not protect us from COVID-19 because it's too hard to archieve and maintain by every governments around the globe.

In the other side, there are many other effective measures to protect the world population from the pandemic. Other than basic ways to shield us such as use a face mask and wash our hands regularly, social distancing has been proved to be the most effective way to shield the world from the scary virus, considering that this virus only infects us through direct contacts, and the world has developed so well to transfer our normal activities to the cloud. Social distancing has been applied in many countries in Europe and the USA, and it is proving it effects as the number of COVID-19's cases had decreased rapidly.

In conclusion, herd immunity can not fully protect us from COVID-19, yet there are many things we can do to protect the world population; especially social distancing, which has been proved to be the most effective measurement.