If you sell a product and the people buy it, then advertising is not necessary and considered as a kind of entertainment. Do you agree or disagree ? Give an example from your experience to support your opinion.

Although sometimes it is thought that product which are already getting sold in market does not require advertising, other think that all big companies are doing some sort of advertising to boost sale and entertainment is done to ensure people watch these advertisements. I disagree, that advertisements are considered only for entertainment as they play very vital role in increasing sales and revenue for the company.

Admittedly, this is commonly believed that the companies who have monopoly in the market should not invest on advertisement. Furthermore, instead should use that amount in research and development to enhance their product features. For example, Maggie which is one of its kind product and no competitor could beat this product. In addition, if company has consumer durable product then it certainly requires advertisement to boost sale, and to on-board new customers. Moreover, world is moving at very fast pace and there is lot of transformation happening, to ensure company educate customer about new feature and enhancements, advertisement becomes must to do.

On the other hand, there are many products which does not require any advertisement, as they are necessity of customers. For instance, Indian Oil do not require advertisements to boost sale and customer by default will come and purchase product. Another significant factor is even if people remember advertisements from entertainment perspective, it still helps in increasing sales and spread awareness about the product. one of the most important factor of advertising is, people assume that company is doing well and therefore investing further in advertisements. Those company who do not do well on revenue will avoid going for any kind of advertisements like TV commercials, sponsorship and branding etc.

To conclude, some people wrongly perceive that advertisement could be waste for the product who already have good consumer base and people watch that only for entertainment. I strongly believe that advertisement contributes a lot in companies success and especially products who have more consumer base needs advertisement to ensure they do not loose customer against the competition.