Impose heavy taxes on sugary foods and drinks is good or not? Discuss both views and state your opinion

People’s opinions differ as to whether or not fast food should be taxed by governments. While there are some strong arguments agree with this because it can benefit both individuals and governments, I still believe that it should not be implemented.

On one hand, putting taxes on sweat foods and beverages is a clever decision because it not only benefits individuals but also governmetns in certain extend. In other words, these kind of foodstuffs contain savory flavors with feel-good ingredients, including sugars, trans fats, and artificial sweetener, which make customers feel more enjoyable. However, overconsuming suger foodstuffs can have some side-effects, which cause them easily getting obesity, diabetes and many other health-related issues. Further more, the less diseases people have, the less burden on the health care systems, which directly boost the financial of country.

On the other hand, there are some undeniable reasons why people disagree with this specific tax law. Firstly, although there are some taxes on harmful items such as tobacco and alcohol, many people still consume them frequently. Therefore, many thinking that putting taxes on sugar foods and beverages will not make a difference. Secondly, some also point out that the tax law may put food and drinks companies,which are a massive part of society's economy, under pressure. That means, when their revenues decline as a result of many people no longer purchasing their items, businesses may provide discounts on their products in order to encourage people to buy them again, which means the taxes are useless. Moreover, when the prices decrease, employee salaries also do so, which is a great burden on individuals and society.

In conclusion, while putting taxes on fast food does have some effects, this law should not be implemented because it will cause a great burden on the public and governments.