The Increased availability of consumer credit in some countries has contributed to the problem of consumer debt. Some people say that the financial institutions that lend money are responsible for high levels of Indebtedness. Others say it is the individuals who borrow money.

Discuss both points of view and give your opinion

Globally, the issue of whether the serious debt problem attributes to banks or to individuals has been debated for many years. Some people believe that it is the financial organizations’ responsibility since they are the rule makers, while others argue that those who borrow money need to be blamed because they want to purchase items that they cannot afford. This essay will discuss both point of view and give its opinion.

To begin with, it is undeniable that the financial institutions should be responsible for the high level of consumer debts. It is they that are the decision makers, deciding whether it is eligible and how much they can lend when clients apply for loans. In Australia, for instance, it is approachable for residents to borrow thousands of hundreds of dollars from banks if they are able to provide their income evidence. In this case, the easy criterial required by the financial institutions enlarges the population who are in debts. However, this is not the only perspective.

On the other hand, consumers who plan to purchase things that are above their budget also contribute to the ubiquitous phenomenon of indebtedness. Instead of saving money and buying stuff in the future, people tend to borrow money and make purchases at present. Take China as an example. In recent times, most Chinese buy houses with mortgage due to the unaffordable price, which enables them to have a place to live rather than saving for decades. Thus, individuals’ preference about consuming introduces more debts.

This essay has discussed whether financial organizations should take responsibility since they process the loans or consumers are responsible because of the huge demands of debts according to the high levels of loans. On balance, this essay believes that the former argument is stronger. All over the world, people will be much happier with less stress living with debts if banks and private companies have more strict requirements in terms of lending money.