With the increasing demand for energy sources of oil and gas, people should look for sources of oil and gas in remote and untouched natural places. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages of damaging such areas?

Nowadays, the demand for energy sources is rising, people have to search for sources of oil and gas in distant natural areas. I believe that the effect of developing the original natural areas is absolutely negative.

It is well known that the developed countries have destroyed many natural areas and caused wildlife extinct in order to obtain more sources of fuels. In recently, quite a few developing countries exploit the tropical rainforests for the same reason and the effect of their modes of development causes the damages to outweigh the benefits. Firstly, the absorption of the greenhouse-gas by the rainforests is decreased because people continually reclaim rainforests. Secondly, the developers who are from the developing countries use the destructive way to exploit the rainforests such as burning the forests, which will release Carbon Dioxide into the air and cause the Global Warming becoming serious during the process.

In addition, the scientists worried that some advanced countries are planning to develop the South Pole for obtaining sources of oil because this development will cause the damages which the ecology of Antarctic Circle cannot withstand. For example, people may have to erect their buildings and set up equipment on the wild animal’s habitat. These developing activities will cause different pollutants which influence animals such as noise, light pollution. What’s worst, the Oil spill, the ocean which as the main of food sources for animals will be polluted, finally, the pollution will directly influence the fish which eaten by people.

In conclusion, it is clear that the disadvantages of developing remote natural places outweigh the advantages. In general, people should weigh up the pros and cons before making the decision of the developing the distant natural places.