Some people say that governments should focus on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems to help people prevent illness and disease. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is often discussed that governments should spend resources on addressing environmental pollution and housing problems to assist people in preventing illness and disease. While I agree that this is necessary for our society, I believe that governments should carefully weigh the range of the budget to be spend on this social issue.

It is necessary for governments to offer suitable and healthy surroundings and provide sufficient space for citizens. The governments have to erect facilities which can clear water or collect and cover trash to avoid pollution; therefore, governments may spend more budget on this project than others. In addition, the housing space lacking is the general problem in the city, as a result, governments have to increase the budget for the public housing project, which can solve the problem of lack housing. However, during these processes of constructing, it may cause the pollution which could influence human health.

On the other hand, there are several methods can be used to address the original factor - the overgrowth population which may have caused aforementioned pollution and problems. The governments should use part of the budget to develop the secondary cities to alleviate the growing population in the main cities. Through dispersing population to the secondary city, it can help to alleviate the problems such as crowded traffic, lacking space and insufficient medical treatment; therefore, citizens can use the space which was planned to be a public housing, a hospital or a highway.

In general, I agree that addressing existing environmental problems is absolutely necessary, but nevertheless I believe that the methods which can address the original factors of environmental problem are also worthy considered and executed.