An increasing number of people do not know their neighbors, and there is no longer a sense of community. What do you think are the causes of this situation? Can you suggest some solutions?

It is a common phenomenon for many people feel unfamiliar with their neighbors. Some people believe if this matter become worse, people will no longer need community. Apart from the reasons of personal character, some other factors will also cause this result.

The most important reason is that people spend less time together than in the past. Many people just have nodding acquaintance with their neighbors because they can only meet each other when they go out. At the same time, changes in the structure of houses make it more difficult for people to meet each other. In the past, the house is open and usually has a yard so that neighbors could sit in the yard and chat with host. However nowadays less community provide such a yard for its residents to rest. Moreover, a fast-paced life makes people have no time to communicate with their neighbors. Fierce competition at work makes people less energetic to communicate with others, therefore they become more and more indifferent.

It is difficult to solve this problem. First and foremost, the community can provide more public area for people to rest and talk, such as recreation room or gyms. People will have more possibility to meet their neighbors when stay in these public area. Also, the community could hold more activities which invite their residences to participate. It obviously can create a platform for people become familiar with each other.

Overall, communities should reflect their functions through management and developing activities. A community with well organize and secure environment can help its residences expand their social bond.