A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agree?

Crime is a serious problem that affects people’s daliy life in many countries. Obiviously, people will feel unsafe if they lived in a society with high crime rate. Therefore I agree that the government should put citizens’ safety and stability in the primary place even if other aspects such as social warfare will be slightly effected.

On the one hand, ensuring the personal safety of its citizens is one of the significant responsibilities of a functioning government. The government not only has responsibility to consist a well-organized and responsive police force to protect citizens, but also has its duty to establishing and improving the legal system of country. Moreover, to increase defence can make sure every citizens’ chance to live their life. Some people will said that people can protect themsleves and thus it is wasting money if government paid for defence. However crime tends to affect lower-income areas more than affluent areas and therefore if the government ignore their citizens’ safety, then not every individual have freedom to pursue their dream.

On the other hand, making sure citizens' welfare is also the main work of the government, and improving welfare can make the country more stable to some extent. However, perfect welfare sometimes breeds laziness. Some people don't work and just want to live by benefits. I think the government can spend money on public facilities or security systems by reducing the expenditure on welfare. This can not only improve the sense of national security, but also promote more people to work and improve the economy

In conclusion, I believe it will bring more benefits for country if the government increase the investment in defence.