An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

with the raise in the information technology, many schools have adopted a new system of education like providing their students with laptops and tablets instead of textbooks and other printed sources. This essay will suggest that , getting information for the students is very easy as an advantages while technology distraction as the primary disadvantages.

in one hand, accessing any source of information is very easy. furthermore,students do not have to leave their seat or spend their time in searching for the information in library , just with the one touch of button all the required information is available. for instance, a research conducted by a group of child psychologist from the university of cambridge showed that, more that 65% of students are doing assignments and submitting earlier than before after allowing the use of laptops in school.

on the other hand, while working on a system , the number of other distraction in the system is endless. a students doing multitasking in the system like taking notes , using social media, listening to music or chatting with his friend at one go, will not be definaley beneficial for his education level. for example, a april 2018 study shows that almost about 50% of those students who used laptops for studying and taking notes scored lower on a post class test as compared to those who did not used laptops , as reported by their class teachers.

to conclude, there is increasing number of schools who allows their students to use laptops and tablet instead of books and other resources. this can be beneficial as it an ease for students to get information while hindrance related to those cannot be neglected.